Tags: Roofing, Commercial
The path to becoming a licensed roofing contractor in Maryland begins with working as a subcontractor for a general contractor. Interestingly, a general contractor for new home construction only needs to register and does not need to be licensed in the state of Maryland. If working for a contractor, a subcontractor does not need to be licensed.
In order to enter into a contract with a homeowner to modify or remodel a roof on an existing structure, a Home Improvement License from the Maryland Home Improvement Commission is required. Home improvement refers to any modification or alteration to a single family home or to the individual living quarters of a condominium. It does not refer to any improvements made to the common areas or buildings associated with the condominium.
In order to apply to the Home Improvement Commission for a roofing contractor’s license, an applicant must pass a written test with a score of at least 70 percent. The test covers all laws and regulations applicable to the home improvement business. The application for taking the written test requires an applicant to submit the following to the commission:
1) Proof of two years of experience in “home improvement work, construction, and/or related education."
2) Proof that the applicant’s business is financially solvent.
3) If the business is a corporation, the articles of incorporation must be submitted with the application to take the written test.
4) If the business is using a trade name, proof must be submitted with the test application that the name is available and registered.
5) Proof that the applicant's business carries liability insurance in the amount of $50,000.
6) Proof of Worker’s Compensation Coverage or explanation that the applicant is not an employer required to provide such coverage.
7) If the applicant has a criminal record of either a felony or misdemeanor “relating to a home improvement transaction” the criminal record of the conviction must be submitted with the application.
8 ) Submit a $150 licensing fee along with a $20 application fee.
9) Include the work history and provide names of the contractors the applicant has worked for.
10) The application must be signed declaring, under penalty of perjury, that all the information is correct.
Some colleges offer a test preparation course. The MHIC offers free seminars to help with the application process. Neither the course nor the seminar is required. They are only offered to assist those who feel they could benefit from them.
If the applicant does not pass the exam the first time, it can be retaken. The second application can be made 21 days after notification that the applicant did not pass. If subsequent retakes are necessary, 60 days must elapse between the notification date and reapplication.
No temporary license will be issued and the license must be renewed every two years. At renewal, a fee is charged and a credit check performed. If there are any problems with the credit check related to the business, the contractor will be given an opportunity to explain.
Maryland Roof Estimates - http://www.roofing-directory.com/maryland/